The Joy Fuck Club

Warning: In case you missed the title, the following post contains adult content and coarse language not appropriate for children or prudish wankers.

A surfer buddy of mine who shall remain nameless sent me a joke yesterday about a materialistic woman and a fairly typical guy.

So this evening, after spending ALL day in front of the computer, I’m out running on the beach at low tide with my blind dog Zee zigzagging along behind me and I see a guy coming out of the water who’s a real jackass. I start thinking, “Oh great, Jackass is back…” when I catch myself and say, “Now Dawn, turn that shit around…” and I start telling myself he doesn’t mean to be a jackass and he’s just like the rest of us and, no, I’m no better than Mr. Jackass. Then because I’m not believing myself, I know I’m better than that jackass, I abandon reason and go with my loving kindness mantra (yeah, I really do that shit). It goes like this, “May all beings be filled with loving kindness, may they have compassion, may they be filled with joy, may they feel at peace and at ease…may all beings be filled with loving kindness…” You get the idea.

I’m running along, my breathing in sync with my internal mantra chanting and I decide to make myself smile to increase the positive vibe I’m starting to feel. That’s when my mind wanders off in a totally different direction, as it tends to do, and I start thinking about the joke my friend sent me. Suddenly, it dawns on me that following the reasoning of the joke my name would be Surffuck, as in a knighted Japanese guy, Sir Fuk. An even bigger smile breaks out on my face, and my chest inflates as I’m filled with pride at my great show of wit (delayed though it may have been). I soaked in that glow for a few seconds before returning to my mantra.

At times, when I really get into my mantra, I leave all the extra words out and just chant, “Loving kindness, compassion, joy, peace…loving kindness, compassion, joy, peace,…” So tonight I was running along and on autopilot. I wasn’t even thinking consciously about the mantra, the words just continued flowing through my mind in a stream. At one point though, when I turned my full attention back to my inner voice and this is what I was chanting:

Loving-kindness, compassion, joy, fuck, loving-kindness, compassion, joy, fuck.

Well, I started laughing right there on the beach in the dark. That last mile was over before I knew it and Mr. Jackass was completely exorcized from my mind. Then I realized I’d abandoned more than the mantra, I’d left my poor blind dog in the dust about half a mile back.

12 thoughts on “The Joy Fuck Club

  1. Nooooooooooooooooooo…don’t leave ur poor blind dog behind, Dawn! Hope all is well.
    I’ve missed ur posts. Have a second book on Amazon if u wanna ‘Like’ it there for me!
    The title is very relevant to your beautiful life – Squinting Over Water – Stories.
    Hey do you wanna do NaNoWriMo with me this year? It’s free, it’s the whole month of
    November and you could try to finish that memoir. Please!!!

    • Don’t worry Mary, I went back and found her wandering around in the dark, trying to find me with her nose. She usually is much better at keeping up, but I was so enthused by my mantra that guess I picked up the pace rather too much for her. I won’t let it happen again! Promise!

  2. Love the mantra. Much more elaborate than my mantras ever get. I usually run to either 1,2,3,4 or I’m healthy and strong. Thanks for sharing your inner ponderings!

  3. Pingback: Caged Creativity | Dawn Revealed

  4. Pingback: Adios To A Dear Friend | Dawn Revealed

Tell me what you think. Seriously. I can take it.

